Skip to content
Product finder
Opens in a new tab.
Savings account comparison

Canara Junior Savings Account vs SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Compare Canara Junior Savings Account and SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account using the controlling cost, balance, rate, tenure, liquidity, limits, eligibility and current first-party bank evidence for this product type.

Savings account comparison

Canara Junior Savings Account vs SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Compare the two source-backed records without collapsing unlike conditions into a winner score.

Latest underlying reviewSeptember 11, 2026
Canara BankCanara Junior Savings Account

Minor students above 10 who can operate independently and need a low-limit account with education-payment support.

Cost / pricing
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
1 bank source
Open product research
State Bank of IndiaSBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Children above 10 who meet SBI's signature/KYC conditions and are ready for a self-operated savings account with deliberately limited digital transaction rights.

Cost / pricing
SBI's current deposit policy says non-maintenance charges for average balance are presently waived across Savings Bank Accounts; other service and card rules remain product-specific.
Reviewed
September 11, 2026
Evidence
3 bank sources
Open product research
Compare like with likeThese records share the same product type.
Conditions stay attachedBalance, tenure, channel, relationship and effective-date wording stays visible.
No missing-data inferenceMissing wording never means zero cost or unlimited access.
Keep an offline research copyPrint the full comparison or choose Save as PDF in your browser. All decision checkpoints are expanded for the print copy.

littleden.blog · Comparison research sheet

Canara Junior Savings Account vs SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Prepared 14 Sep 2026 · Source page: https://littleden.blog/compare-banking/canara-junior-savings-account-vs-sbi-pehli-udaan-minor-savings-account/

General product research only. Recheck the listed first-party sources before acting because product terms can change after the recorded review dates.

Decision checkpoints

Answer the questions that can actually change the choice.

Each checkpoint reproduces the recorded product fields instead of assigning a winner. Read the condition, scope and missing-data state before treating a difference as useful to you.

01Can you maintain the required account conditions?Start with the eligible customer or relationship and any balance, funding or tenure requirement.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Eligibility
Minor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.
Balance / relationship
Balance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.

SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Eligibility
Minors above 10 years who can sign uniformly; current SBI policy applies individual KYC to independently operated minor accounts.
Balance / relationship
Maximum balance ₹10 lakh in the minor's Savings Account and ₹20 lakh aggregate deposit on the minor CIF under the current Pehli Udaan dispensation.
02Which charges apply to your account use?Read the full cost wording and scope rather than comparing isolated numbers.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Cost / charges
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.

SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Cost / charges
SBI's current deposit policy says non-maintenance charges for average balance are presently waived across Savings Bank Accounts; other service and card rules remain product-specific.
03What operating and relationship rules could change the fit?Check limits and the ongoing relationship conditions before choosing.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Limits / allowances
Maximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
Ongoing relationship rule
Canara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.

SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Limits / allowances
Current SBI policy sets a ₹5,000 per-day limit for the listed internet-banking transactions and separately prohibits overdraft/loan facilities to minors under its general minor-account rules.
Ongoing relationship rule
Pehli Udaan is singly operated by the eligible minor. The bank names only a generic Photo ATM-cum-Debit Card, so the engine records card access without manufacturing a named-card edge.
Exact terms

Put the controlling banking fields side by side.

The stored field wording is preserved. Product-type-specific evidence follows this generic comparison where deeper structured research exists.

On a small screen, scroll this table sideways. The factor column stays visible.

Table region. When the region itself has keyboard focus, use Left and Right arrows to scroll horizontally; Home and End move to the start or end.

Banking product terms side by side for Canara Junior Savings Account and SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account
Decision factorCanara Junior Savings AccountSBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account
Cost / chargesThe current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.SBI's current deposit policy says non-maintenance charges for average balance are presently waived across Savings Bank Accounts; other service and card rules remain product-specific.
Balance / relationshipBalance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.Maximum balance ₹10 lakh in the minor's Savings Account and ₹20 lakh aggregate deposit on the minor CIF under the current Pehli Udaan dispensation.
Core benefitsDebit card, branch withdrawal, free eligible fund transfer to colleges/educational institutions within the scheme limit, and conversion to regular savings after majority.Sole-name/self operation, enquiry rights plus limited internet-banking transactions and a Photo ATM-cum-Debit Card.
Limits / allowancesMaximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.Current SBI policy sets a ₹5,000 per-day limit for the listed internet-banking transactions and separately prohibits overdraft/loan facilities to minors under its general minor-account rules.
EligibilityMinor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.Minors above 10 years who can sign uniformly; current SBI policy applies individual KYC to independently operated minor accounts.
Ongoing relationship ruleCanara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.Pehli Udaan is singly operated by the eligible minor. The bank names only a generic Photo ATM-cum-Debit Card, so the engine records card access without manufacturing a named-card edge.
Wrong-fit risks

Keep each product’s cautions beside the product.

A useful comparison shows what can make either option unsuitable instead of averaging those conditions into a score.

Canara Bank

Canara Junior Savings Account

  • This is not an ordinary unrestricted student account; the ₹50,000 balance, ₹1 lakh annual-credit and ₹10,000 monthly-debit ceilings materially constrain use.
  • The debit-card monthly withdrawal cap is ₹5,000 even though the total monthly debit cap is ₹10,000.
  • The account converts to regular savings after majority, so adult account terms should be rechecked then.
State Bank of India

SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

  • Being self-operated does not give the same limits or facilities as an unrestricted adult account.
  • The ₹5,000 internet-banking limit and minor deposit ceilings remain decision-relevant.
  • At majority, SBI requires confirmation of balance, fresh signature/photo and PAN/Form 60 or related majority proof before normal debits continue.
Research tools

Continue from the pair into exact product-level research.

These tools help narrow or inspect the records. They do not replace bank eligibility, live pricing or account-specific controls.

Independent source state

Verify each product from its own bank evidence.

One side's source depth or freshness never fills a gap in the other record.

First-party source appendix

These are the exact source URLs already attached to the two research records. Re-open the controlling documents before relying on a fee, rate, limit, eligibility rule or benefit.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 1 attached first-party source

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.canarabank.bank.in/canara-junior-saving-account

SBI Pehli Udaan Minor Savings Account

Reviewed September 11, 2026 · 3 attached first-party sources

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://sbi.bank.in/documents/53471/263971/12052026_Policy%2Bon%2BDepositors%2BRights%2Bversion%2B7.0.pdf/202192d7-3d17-5fe8-d314-cd180efb48d8?t=1778571575029
  2. Issuer product pagehttps://sbi.co.in/documents/53471/263971/Policy%2Bon%2BDepositors%2BRights18082025.pdf/d171eb0e-5674-0a8b-98b5-f86e4491373a?t=1755494798543
  3. Fee / charge schedulehttps://sbi.co.in/webfiles/uploads/index/30082019-UPDATED_LIST_OF_SERVICE_CHARGES.pdf