Skip to content
Product finder
Opens in a new tab.
Canara BankSavings account

Canara Junior Savings Account

Canara Bank's self-operated account for minor students above 10 with a debit card, student-ID requirement and tightly defined balance, annual-credit and monthly-debit ceilings.

First-party evidencePublished researchReviewed September 9, 2026Active
Balance / relationshipBalance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.
Cost / chargesThe current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Limits / allowancesMaximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
Ongoing relationship ruleCanara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.
Research processPublished by littleden.blog

Structured from first-party bank/issuer evidence. This page does not claim personal hands-on product use unless that experience is explicitly stated.

1 first-party source
Last checkedSeptember 9, 2026

Recorded source review date, not a claim that the product changed that day.

Maintenance stateWithin scheduled review window

Target recheck: January 7, 2027.

Critical decision facts

Start with the ongoing account relationship, then price the access layer.

Balance or salary conditions, charges, allowances and downgrade rules can matter more than a promotional benefit.

01 · Balance / relationshipBalance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.
02 · Cost / chargesThe current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
03 · Limits / allowancesMaximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
04 · Ongoing relationship ruleCanara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.
Maintained terms

Fees, balances, benefits, limits and eligibility without a single-score shortcut.

These six fields are the cross-product layer. The specialist section above controls whenever a type-specific field is more precise.

Cost / chargesThe current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Balance / relationshipBalance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.
Core benefitsDebit card, branch withdrawal, free eligible fund transfer to colleges/educational institutions within the scheme limit, and conversion to regular savings after majority.
Limits / allowancesMaximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
EligibilityMinor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.
Ongoing relationship ruleCanara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.
Fit & cautions

Who this record appears designed for—and what can break the fit.

Best-fit wording summarizes the published proposition. It is not individualized financial advice or an approval prediction.

Potential fit

Minor students above 10 who can operate independently and need a low-limit account with education-payment support.

Verify before relying
  • This is not an ordinary unrestricted student account; the ₹50,000 balance, ₹1 lakh annual-credit and ₹10,000 monthly-debit ceilings materially constrain use.
  • The debit-card monthly withdrawal cap is ₹5,000 even though the total monthly debit cap is ₹10,000.
  • The account converts to regular savings after majority, so adult account terms should be rechecked then.
Maintained comparisons

Compare this product only where the pair is deliberately maintained.

Both sides keep independent review dates, exact conditions and first-party evidence. No winner score is generated.

First-party source ledger

Complete evidence set for this maintained profile.

Each source remains independent. A product page, tariff, KFS/MITC, rate schedule or programme document is not silently treated as interchangeable evidence.

Current-use rule

When the bank changes a term after the recorded review, the current agreement, tariff, KFS/MITC or effective rate table controls.

Research boundary

This page organizes dated public evidence; it does not guarantee eligibility, availability, approval, service quality or future pricing.